DUI

Driving under the influence of alcohol or other impairing drugs is a crime in all 50 states and the District of Columbia, but DUI law varies by state. For the purposes of DUI law, generally you are "impaired" if your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is appreciably affected by having consumed alcohol, illicit drugs, or prescription medications. Motorists who are shown to have a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least 0.08 percent are assumed to be impaired. Similarly, some states assume that any amount of certain drugs in the bloodstream constitutes impairment.

A DUI arrest is always preceded by a traffic stop, whether the police officer suspects drunk driving or has stopped a motorist for an unrelated reason, such as a burned-out taillight. After a police officer has conducted a traffic stop and suspects a DUI violation, he or she will conduct one or more tests to determine whether or not the motorist is impaired. Usually the process begins with a field sobriety test, in which the officer asks the driver to perform a set of tasks that would be difficult for a drunk driver to complete. The officer then uses an instrument to measure an individual's blood-alcohol concentration (BAC), most commonly called a breathalyzer.

In Florida, the privilege of driving a motor vehicle can be suspended, along with criminal sanctions, if you are convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or other drugs. While you likely won't spend time in jail for your first offense (aside from perhaps an overnight stay), the minimum jail time for a second and third offense is 10 days and 30 days, respectively. But the cost of a DUI can also include steep fines and court fees, license suspension, and other negative consequences.

Florida Ignition Interlock Device (IID) Program

You may be ordered to have an IID installed on your vehicle after a first offense, depending on the judge's discretion, but the devices are mandatory for six months for first-offenders with a BAC of more than 0.15 percent. Second offenses require a one-year period of IID use, while third and successive convictions will result in two or more years of mandatory IID use.

Changes may occur in this area of law. The information provided is brought to you as a public service, and is intended to help you better understand the law in general. It is not intended to be legal advice regarding your particular problem or substitute for the advice of a lawyer.

Back to Top

Contact Us

Indy Lawyer Finder

1234 Main Street

San Francisco, CA 94110


Monday through Friday
8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Closed on all national holidays.

Get a personalized referral now!

Browse Online Directory

Indy Lawyer Finder is a service of the Indianapolis Bar Association. Our Mission: To serve our members, promote justice and enhance the legal profession.